Full Speed Ahead

There’s nothing like when life gets into a real, fast swing that seems like nothing can stop it or slow it down. The only real thing you can do is grip on for dear life and just swing along with all your might.

And that’s what I’ve been doing the past couple of days. Saturday and Sunday were dedicated to driving all around NJ, CT, and MA to visit various friends and attend a commencement ceremony before driving back to CT to drop one friend off on the way back home to NJ. Somewhere in the mess of that 24 hour span of time I got a call back from the place that I was interviewed at a few days prior and was asked to start work on Monday. So that’s exactly what wound up happening.

Monday morning came and I showed up to work expecting some paperwork and mild training, probably 5 hours max. Except apparently I wound up being a natural and they decided to keep me on longer, only until 6 instead of 4 like I was originally scheduled. And then they asked if I could stay longer and I agreed. Lo and behold several hours pass and it’s closing time, the end of my 12 hour first shift there. Trust me when I say that I’m not complaining in the slightest. It feels great to actually be doing something again and the very fast paced environment has been a bit of an adjustment but it hasn’t been super overwhelming. If anything it’s tested just how much I can handle under pressure, which seems to be a lot. One of the people above me even was surprised that they had me work 12 hours on my first day, apparently it’s unheard of for a new hire. But she commended me for pulling through and all of my coworkers so far have been purely incredible.

So life is a bit speedy at the moment which is why I’m taking some little free time that I have right now while my dinner is cooking to write. I will always make time for the things that matter and this is one of those things. It’s great to sit down and just write sometimes. It gives me a place to just vent and take a break from everything else going on in my life.

Alright I have no idea how long vegan quesadillas take to cook in an oven so I need to get going and make sure I don’t burn this. With that, I leave you…

much love and good vibes PERI

 

Leave a Reply

